Originally called the “AIB Service Award” and then the “AIB President’s Award”, the John H. Dunning President’s Award was created to recognize outstanding service to AIB and the field of international business.

On April 6, 2008, the AIB Executive Board passed a resolution to rename the award in John H. Dunning’s honor to recognize his distinguished career in the field of international business and his contributions to AIB.

Selection Process

Winners are selected periodically based on merit and publicly recognized by the AIB Immediate-Past President at our Annual Conference.

Past Winners


Winner(s): Paul Beamish
Affiliation: University of Western Ontario
Description: For exemplary service to the field of international business studies and AIB through his scholarship and global educational impact


Winner(s): Rosalie Tung
Affiliation: Simon Fraser University
Description: For her extraordinary service both to AIB and to the field of international business studies


Winner(s): Tomas Hult
Affiliation: Michigan State University
Description: For dedicated service to international business studies in his role as Executive Director of AIB


Winner(s): Arie Lewin and Lorraine Eden
Affiliation(s): Duke University and Texas A&M University
Description: In appreciation of their devotion to making JIBS a premier journal


Winner(s): Tunga Kiyak
Affiliation: Michigan State University
Description: For his tireless efforts to grow and support the membership of the AIB as the AIB Managing Director


Winner(s): C.K. Prahalad
Affiliation: University of Michigan
Description: For his contributions to the field of international business and to AIB


Winner(s): Jeremy Clegg
Affiliation: University of Leeds
Description: For his service as the AIB-UK Chapter President


Winner(s): James R. Wills, Jr. and Laurel A. King
Affiliation: University of Hawaii
Description: For their service as members of the AIB Secretariat, 1995-2003

Winner(s): Saeed Samiee
Affiliation: University of Tulsa
Description: For his service in putting together the AIB Best Paper and Haynes Prize committees and procedures


Winner(s): Jeff Arpan
Affiliation: University of South Carolina
Description: For his unending dedication to AIB over the years


Winner(s): Jagdish N. Sheth and the Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth Foundation
Affiliation: The Sheth Foundation
Description: For their continual support of AIB and its programs over the years