Established 2017, and made possible through an endowment from Florida International University, this award recognizes a paper that has achieved superior theory development.

Selection Process

All papers accepted for competitive sessions at the AIB Annual Meeting are eligible for the award. Finalists are nominated by that year’s conference track chairs. An independent award committee then evaluates each of the nominees. The author(s) of the winning manuscript, announced at the Awards Session on the last day of AIB’s conference annually, receive both a plaque and a monetary award.

Past Winners


Winner(s): Ari Van Assche (1); Vivek Soundararajan (2); Hari Bapuji (3); Gokhan Ertug (4)
Affiliation(s): (1) HEC Montréal; (2) University of Bath; (3) University of Melbourne; (4) University of Adelaide
Article: Global Supply Chain Practices and Inequality


Winner(s): Junghoon Park (1); Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra (2); Ivan Montiel (1)
Affiliation(s): (1) City University of New York; (2) Northeastern University
Article: Partnering with NGOs to Advance Sustainability in Emerging Markets


Winner(s): Lilac Nachum
Affiliation(s): Baruch College, CUNY
Article: Value Distribution in Global Value Chains: Interdependence Relationships, Markets for Social Justice and Government Policy


Winner(s): Mooweon Rhee (1); Valerie Alexandra (2); K. Skylar Powell (3)
Affiliation(s): (1) Yonsei University ; (2) San Diego State University; (3) Western Washington University
Article: Individualism-Collectivism Cultural Differences in Performance Feedback Theory


Winner(s): Gabriel Benito (1); Bent Petersen (2); Lawrence Welch (3)
Affiliation(s): (1) BI Norwegian Business School ; (2) Copenhagen Business School; (3) Melbourne Business School
Article: Mode Flexibility: What Are the Tradeoffs and How to Deal with Them?


Winner(s): Elitsa Banalieva (1); Charles Dhanaraj (2)
Affiliation(s): (1) Northeastern University; (2) Temple University
Article: Internalization Theory for the Digital Economy


Winner(s): Arpita Joardar (1), and Joseph Sarkis (2)
Affiliation(s): (1) University of Massachusetts Dartmouth; (2) Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Article: An Institutional Examination of Sustainability in Supply Chains Using the Foreignness Perspective