The John Fayerweather Eminent Scholar Award is among the most prestigious prizes a researcher can receive from AIB. Intended to recognize an outstanding thinker whose scholarship has significantly influenced the international business field through new conceptualizations, theorizations, or empirical inquiries, the selection of each year’s award winner is entrusted to a special committee of AIB Fellows.

On behalf of this committee, our fellows, and the entire AIB community, we hope you will join us in congratulating Jay Barney, the scholar chosen to receive this year’s award at our 2020 Annual Meeting in Miami, Florida. Currently serving as Presidential Professor of Strategic Management and Lassonde Chair of Social Entrepreneurship at the University of Utah, his work has been particularly instrumental to IB scholars seeking to explore how firms establish and sustain competitive advantages, a framework which has become widely known as the resource-based view of the firm.

Attendees at our 2020 Annual Meeting will have the opportunity to hear Dr. Barney speak in depth about his scholarship during a special award presentation session, a body of work which ranges from firms’ leveraging of costly-to-copy capabilities to the actions entrepreneurs take to create and exploit economic opportunities.

Dr. Barney’s academic career has spanned over 40 years, having earned his PhD from Yale University and served as the Chase Chair for Excellence in Corporate Strategy at the Ohio State University prior to joining the faculty at the University of Utah’s David Eccles School of Business.

The impact of Dr. Barney’s work can also be seen in a number of our field’s top journals. He is currently the Editor of the Academy of Management Review and has previously served as an associate editor at the Journal of Management, senior editor for Organization Science, and co-editor at the Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal. His work has been published in numerous leading scholarly outlets, including the Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Journal, Strategic Management Journal and Management Science, among others.

His academic influence has been recognized by institutions worldwide, including the University of Lund (Sweden), the Copenhagen Business School, and Universidad Pontificia Comillas (Spain), which have all awarded him honorary doctorate degrees. His expertise has also earned him honorary visiting professor positions in New Zealand, the U.K. and China.

“Jay is the consummate theoretician whose work has had a major impact in multiple disciplines. The number of citations to his published research is among the highest of top scholars across several sister disciplines, even more than some Nobel prize recipients,” said Michael Hitt, chair of the 2020 Eminent Scholar Award selection committee. “His work on the importance and value of resources for gaining and sustaining a competitive advantage has special relevance for the conduct of international business. As such, his work has served as a base for and catalyst to a significant amount of international business research.”

AIB wishes to express special thanks to all of our 2020 John Fayerweather Eminent Scholar Award Selection Committee members: Mike Hitt (chair), John Cantwell, Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra, Charles Dhanaraj, Cristina Gibson, and Yadong Luo.