To celebrate AIB Insights 20th anniversary, Editor John Mezias assembled a committee of past Editors and Editorial Review Board (ERB) members to help identify outstanding articles published in the journal’s first 2 decades. This was the first such initiative to evaluate and award AIB Insights articles.

The AIB Insights Outstanding Article Selection Committee was chaired by Daniel Rottig (Editor 2016-18 & ERB), and members included Ilan Alon (Editor 2009-12 & ERB), Helena Barnard (ERB); John Mezias (Editor 2019-2021), Betty Jane Punnett (Founding Editor & ERB); and Beth Rose (ERB).

Only articles were considered for these awards, which excluded editorials and dissertation summaries. From 2000-2020 AIB Insights published 215 articles. In keeping with AIB Insights’ raison d’être, winning articles had to provide significant actionable international business insights related to research, practical, or pedagogical issues affecting the international business community. After extensive and careful review, the committee selected the 9 most outstanding articles to award. We thank the committee for their hard work and dedication to the journal!

Award winners were announced at the AIB 2021 conference session: “AIB Insights: Celebrating the First 20 Years and Charting its Future”. Please congratulate AIB Insights Outstanding Article Award winners (listed below) and read these wonderful articles which provide Actionable International Business Insights.

AIB Insights Outstanding Article Awards

Nathaniel Boso, Yaw Debrah,
Joseph Amankwah-Amoah
(How) Does Africa Matter for International Business Scholarship?

Amanda Budde-Sung, Amanda Bullough, Tugba Kalafatoglu, Fiona Moore

Yes We Can, But How? Women’s Representation in Global Business. 

Pankaj Ghemawat, Steven Altman
Emerging Economies: Differences and Distances

Vas Taras, Pawel Bryla, Susan Forquer Gupta, Alfredo Jiménez, Michael Minor, Timothy Muth, Xavier Ordenana, Daniel Rottig, Riikka Sarala, Norhayati Zakaria, Srdan Zdravkovic
Changing the Face of International Business Education: The X-Culture Project

Exceptional Service Award

Magdalena Viktora-Jones
“For exceptional service in AIB Insights’ transition to our new submission portal.”

Outstanding Reviewer Award

James Nebus, Suffolk University