Loading Events
This event has passed.
register now

Theme: How do Multiculturals Deliver Better Outcomes for International Business Organizations?

Time: May 18, 4pm New York/EST, 8pm GMT, 10pm Berlin/CET

Registration Deadline: May 17, 2021


Speakers:

Multiculturalism within individuals: A review, critique, and agenda for future research
Davina Vora, Lee Martin, Stacey Fitzsimmons, Andre Pekerti, C. Lakshman, and Salma RaheemĀ 
Presented by: Davina Vora, SUNY New Paltz

From crossing cultures to straddling them: An empirical examination of outcomes for multicultural employees
Stacey Fitzsimmons, Yuan Liao, and David ThomasĀ 
Presented by: Yuan (Echo) Liao, University of Sydney

Melting pot or tribe? Country-level ethnic diversity and its effect on subsidiaries
Jennifer Oetzel, Chang Hoon Oh
Presented by: Jennifer Oetzel, American University

Moderator:
Dana Minbaeva, Copenhagen Business School


About This Webinar: The international business literature views multicultural individuals – people with more than one culture – as a rich resource for the exploration of culturally diverse environments in which MNEs operate. Research on multiculturals employed by multinational enterprises has found that these individuals have unique skills, an ability to bridge culture gaps, and a capacity to integrate and transfer knowledge from the around the world. But what do we know about the outcomes that multiculturals deliver for organizations? Are there particular circumstances under which the unique skills and competencies of multiculturals can contribute to better performance or even become a source of competitive advantage? Such knowledge is vital to understanding the contexts in which diversity, and in particular multicultural individuals, can facilitate MNE performance.