Loading Events
This event has passed.
register now

Theme: Managing Gender Equity and Equality Across Borders

Time: May 4, 10am New York/EST, 2pm GMT, 4pm Berlin/CET, 10pm Shanghai/CST

Registration Deadline: May 3, 2021

In commemoration of its 20th anniversary this year, Women in the Academy of International Business (WAIB) is launching a special webinar series—this event will be the first in this planned sequence. For more information on WAIB, please visit our SIG website.


Panelists:
Katharina Bader
(Northumbria University, UK)
Lena Knappert (VU Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
Mila Lazarova (Simon Fraser University, Canada)
Eddy Ng (Bucknell University, USA)

Moderators:
Dana Minbaeva (Copenhagen Business School, Denmark)
Tanvi Kothari (San Jose State University, USA)


About This Webinar: Despite scholarly and practitioner attention, gender equity and equality remain a persistent challenge and one of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDG #5). Although women’s rights and labour market participation differ widely across countries, women around the world continue to experience discrimination at work, remain underrepresented in leadership roles, and are underpaid relative to men.

To improve women’s position, many organizations implement GDM, that aims to foster gender equity and equality at work which encompasses anti-discrimination training, targeted gender recruiting, mentoring, work-family friendly policies, and practices that create synergies among people of different genders. Initial evidence suggests that the acceptance, implementation, and outcomes of GDM differ, depending on the country context, creating particular challenges for MNCs as their operations span across multiple countries.

Research addressing global gender equity and equality, however, falls short of meeting this challenge. Studies on GDM in MNCs are sparse and comparative studies of GDM have been mostly conducted in the West, without sufficient consideration of contextual specificities. Although international HRM and IB research has focused strongly on comparative research and questions of understanding global versus contextual requirements, it has been criticized for marginalizing issues of gender. In this webinar, we will discuss reasons for this neglect and possible solutions to facilitate a research agenda on how to effectively manage gender equity and equality across different contexts.