About Lorraine Eden

Born in Canada with degrees in economics from three Canadian universities, Lorraine Eden joined the Management Department at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas in 1995. She now holds the title of Professor Emerita of Management and a joint appointment as Research Professor of Law in the TAMU School of Law. Prior to joining Texas A&M, Eden held positions as a tenured professor in the Economics departments at Mount St. Vincent and Brock universities and the School of International Affairs at Carleton University.

Eden’s research  lies at the intersection of economics, international business, and public policy. Core areas are: transfer pricing (the pricing of related party  transactions); strategies and structures of multinational enterprises (MNEs); and shocks and responses (how policy and technology shocks affect firm strategies and structures). She is considered one of the founders of the field of transfer pricing economics and is best known for her transfer pricing publications. Her research, which appears in more than 200 scholarly publications, includes books such as Taxing Multinationals (1998), Multinationals in North America (1994), Retrospectives on Public Finance (1991), Multinationals and Transfer Pricing (1985, 2017), The Economics of Transfer Pricing (2019), and Research Methods in International Business (2020). Her current research focuses on transfer pricing and the strategies and structures of MNEs in the digital economy.

Over her career, Eden taught economics and international business courses to thousands of  undergraduate, masters and PhD students, and chaired several PhD dissertations at Texas A&M. She started and ran the Transfer Pricing Aggies program at Texas A&M from 2007 to 2019; her former students now work all over the world in this field. She has also taught transfer pricing courses for the US and Canadian governments. Eden currently guest lectures on transfer pricing in the TAMU School of Law.

For many years, Eden’s professional service home has been the Academy of International Business (AIB). She was elected to two terms on the AIB Executive Board, including AIB President  2017-2018. She was also 2008-2010 Editor-in-Chief of AIB’s Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS), the top-ranked international business journal, after many years as a JIBS Area Editor. In 2004, she was elected an AIB Fellow; in 2012, she received the AIB President’s Award; and in 2016, WAIB (Women in the AIB) awarded her its inaugural Woman of the Year award. In 2019, she received JIBS 50th Anniversary Gold Medals for Scholarship and Scholarly Service. Currently, she is the 2020-2023 Dean of the AIB Fellows.