The study and practice of international business is evolving rapidly in response to the global COVID-19 pandemic. As new issues continue to arise in the field, online events have become an increasingly valuable source of up-to-date information for students and scholars around the world.

To help our members keep up with today’s hottest topics, the AIB Canada Chapter is launching a brand new series of webinars: Burning Issues in IB.

The goal of these webinars is to explore thought-provoking ideas in IB, with a unique regional focus on issues relevant to Canadian scholars, managers, and policy-makers.

Registration for these events will be completely free and open to the entire IB community. Full details on the first webinar in this series are available below, along with a link to our online sign-up form.



Theme: 
The Evolving Relationship Between Canada and China
Time: October 16, 1pm New York, 5pm GMT, 7pm Berlin, 1am Hong Kong
Registration Deadline: October 15, 2020

Presenters:

Ari Van AsscheAri Van Assche is Professor of International Business at HEC Montréal and holds a professorship in pedagogical innovation on economic diplomacy. He is also deputy editor of the Journal of International Business Policy and co-founder of the International Institute for Economic Diplomacy. Recipient of a PhD in Economics from the University of Hawaii at Manoa, his work focuses on the organization of global value chains and their implications for international business policy. His work has been published in leading journals such as the Journal of International Business Studies, the Journal of Economic Geography and the Journal of Development Economics. In 2017, he co-edited the book Redesigning Canadian Trade Policy for New Global Realities, which received the 2018 Doug Purvis Memorial Prize.

Yuen Pau WooThe Honourable Yuen Pau Woo was appointed to the Senate of Canada in November 2016 and sits as an independent representing British Columbia. Senator Woo has worked on public policy issues related to Canada’s relations with Asian countries for more than 30 years.  From 2005-2014, he was President and CEO of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada, where he continues to serve as Distinguished East Asia Fellow. He is also Senior Fellow at Simon Fraser University’s Graduate School of Business and at the School of Public Policy and Global Affairs at the University of British Columbia. He is a member of the Trilateral Commission and on the board of the Vancouver Academy of Music. He also serves on the Advisory Boards of the Mosaic Institute, the Canadian Ditchley Foundation, and the York Centre for Asian Research. Senator Woo has been a member of the following Senate Standing Committees: Foreign Affairs and International Trade; National Finance; Energy, the Environment and Natural Resources; Selection; and Rules, Procedures and the Rights of Parliament.