AIB 2022 Miami may be over, but there are still plenty of reasons to celebrate. Our members have continued to innovate the field of IB research and, as always, we want to recognize their exceptional scholarship.

All of our 2022 award nominees are a credit, both to our association and our discipline as a whole. Please join us in congratulating all of them!

And now, we are proud to announce our 2022 award winners…

John H. Dunning AIB President’s Award

2022 Award Winner
Paul Beamish, University of Western Ontario

“For exemplary service to the field of international business studies and AIB through his scholarship and global educational impact”

Peter J. Buckley and Mark Casson AIB Dissertation Award

Award Sponsors

henley business school logouniversity of leeds logo

2022 Award Winner

Katherine Tatarinov, University of Geneva

Managing, Structuring and Scaling Innovation in International Organizations
(Ph.D. Awarded by University of Geneva)

All Finalist Presentations are Available for Viewing in our Conference Portal

Temple/AIB Best Paper Award

Award Sponsor

temple university's fox school of business logo

2022 Award Winners

N Nuruzzaman, University of Manchester
Erin Makarius
, University of Akron
Debmalya Mukherjee
, University of Akron
Ajai Gaur, Rutgers University

Cross-Border Reputational Effects: The Influence of Parent MNC’s Corporate Social Irresponsibility on Foreign Subsidiary Performance

Alan M. Rugman Young Scholar Award

2022 Award Winner

Hyewon Ma, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

MNE Subsidiary Network as Switching Options: The Strategic Response of US and EU MNEs to the US-China Trade War

UNCTAD-AIB Award for Research on Investment and Development

Award Sponsor

unctad logo

2022 Award Winner

Zarlasht Muhammad Razeq, McGill University

Deep Trade Integration and North-South Participation in Global Value Chains

All Finalist Presentations are Available for Viewing in our Conference Portal

AIB Award for the Best Doctoral Dissertation Proposal

2022 Award Winner

Jukyeong (Judy) Han, University of Kansas

When Should Startups Pursue Rapid Growth?

FIU/AIB Best Theory Paper Award

Award Sponsor

2022 Award Winner

Junghoon Park, City University of New York
Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra, Northeastern University
Ivan Montiel, City University of New York

Partnering with NGOs to Advance Sustainability in Emerging Markets

AIB Insights Award for Actionable Insights

AIB Insights

2022 Award Winners

Betina Szkudlarek, University of Sydney
Eun Su Lee, University of Newcastle
Chris Brewster, University of Reading

Strategic Recruitment of Disadvantaged Jobseekers: Learning from Refugee Context

“That’s Interesting!” Award

Award Sponsor

aalto university award sponsor logo

2022 Award Winners

Manuel Serapio, University of Colorado Denver
Ivo Zander, Uppsala University

Imagination and Firm Internationalization

Best Paper Award in Emerging Economies Research

Award Sponsor

bryant university award sponsor logo

2022 Award Winners

Arzi Adbi, National University of Singapore
Siddharth Natarajan, Chinese University of Hong Kong

Saving for Microenterprises: The Complementary Role of Mobile Money and Banks for Marginalized Individuals in Low and Middle Income Countries

CUIBE Award for Best Paper on International Business Education

Award Sponsor

cuibe award sponsor logo

2022 Award Winners

Ernesto Tavoletti, University of Macerata
Theresa Bernhard, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
Longzhu Dong, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

The Impact of Surface and Deep-Level Attributes on Peer Evaluations in Global Virtual Teams

2022 WAIB Awards

Awards Sponsor

women in the academy of international business logo

WAIB Best Paper Award

Farzana Chowdhury, Durham University
Audretsch, Indiana University

Female CEOS, Institutional Environment, and Exports

WAIB Emerging Scholar Award Winner

Juan Bu, Indiana University

WAIB Woman of the Year Award

Anne-Wil Harzing, Middlesex University

Best Reviewer Award

2022 Award Winners

  • Amitabh Anand, Exelia Business School
  • Daniel S. Andrews, Ivey Business School
  • Tomke J Augustin, University of Manitoba
  • Vasiliki Bamiatzi, University of Sussex
  • Nathalie Belhoste, Grenoble Ecole de Management
  • Amanda Budde-Sung, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Taotao Chen, Tsinghua University
  • Uros Delevic, University of Greenwich
  • Anne Drougas, Dominican University of Illinois
  • Ziad Elsahn, Northumbria University
  • Luke Fiske, Queen’s University
  • Dimitrios Georgakakis, University of York
  • Axèle Giroud, University of Manchester
  • Irina Heim, University of Reading
  • Alfredo Jiménez, KEDGE Business School
  • Rishiraj Kashyap, Ivey Business School
  • Andrei Kuznetsov, University of Central Lancashire
  • Yejee Lee, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Liang (Arthur) Li, University of Reading
  • Yuan Echo Liao, University of Sydney
  • Karen Lynden, University of North Carolina Greensboro
  • Luisa F. Melo, University of South Carolina Palmetto College
  • Pierre Xavier Meschi, IAE Aix-Marseille / Skema Business School
  • Quyen Nguyen, University of Reading
  • Nila Nuzula, Universitas Brawijaya
  • Junghoon Park, Baruch College
  • Elena Poliakova, IESEG
  • Sarika Pruthi, San Jose State University
  • Malika Richards, Pennsylvania State University
  • Sandra Milena Santamaria, Universidad EAFIT
  • Jan Schmitt, University of Amsterdam
  • Roseline Wanjiru, Northumbria University / Newcastle University
  • Nila Wiese, University of Puget Sound
  • Peng Zhang, Simon Fraser University