Whether they’re fully endowed professors or doctoral students just starting their career, our members are producing research that’s shaping the future of International Business. Each year, we recognize their hard work with a special award ceremony at our Annual Conference.

When you’re done browsing our list of 2019 award winners below, be sure to visit our online photo gallery for high-quality, downloadable copies of all the images included in this article.

executive of the year award presentation

International Executive of the Year
Jim Hagemann Snabe
Chairman, A.P. Moller – Maersk and Siemens

International Educator of the Year
Ingmar Björkman
Dean, Aalto University School of Business

scholar of the year award presentation

Eminent Scholar of the Year Award
Daniel Levinthal
The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

2019 rugman award presentation

Alan M. Rugman Young Scholar Award
Daniel Andrews, Florida International University
José Maurício Galli Geleilate, University of Massachusetts Lowell
Stav Fainshmidt, Florida International University

“Contingencies to the Subsidiary Autonomy- Subsidiary Performance Relationship: A Meta-Analytic Review and Extension”

JIBS Decade Award: Sponsored by Palgrave Macmillan
Jan Johanson, Uppsala University
Jan-Erik Vahlne, University of Gothenburg

“The Uppsala Internationalization Process Model Revisited: From Liability of Foreignness to Liability of Outsidership”

Peter J. Buckley and Mark Casson AIB Dissertation Award:
Sponsored by Henley Business School and University of Leeds

Sungyong Chang, London Business School

“Essays on Organization, Creativity, and Globalization”

2019 dissertation proposal award presentation

AIB Award for the Best Doctoral Dissertation Proposal
Tuuli Hakkarainen, Aalto Business School

“Sharing Expertise Across Geographical and Cognitive Boundaries”

2019 research methods award presentation

Best Paper Award in Research Methods
Sponsored by University of Sydney

Ursula Ott, Nottingham Trent University

“The International Negotiation Dance: A Cross-Cultural Bargaining and Experimental Analysis”

FIU/AIB Best Theory Paper Award
Sponsored by Florida International University

Gabriel Benito, BI Norwegian Business School
Bent Petersen, Copenhagen Business School
Lawrence Welch, Melbourne Business School

“Mode Flexibility: What Are the Tradeoffs and How to Deal with Them?”

2019 emerging economies research award

Best Paper in Emerging Economies Research
Sponsored by Bryant University
Juan Bu, Indiana University
Yadong Luo, University of Miami

“Learning from Foreign Acquirers in Your Backyard: An Analysis of EMNEs’ Cross-Border Acquisition Completion”

2019 best paper award presentation

Temple/AIB Best Paper Award
Sponsored by Fox School of Business, Temple University
Jakob Muellner, Vienna University of Economics and Business
Martin Fraissler, Vienna University of Economics and Business
Jonas Puck, Vienna University of Economics and Business
Sinziana Dorobantu, New York University

“Electoral Uncertainty, Political Constraints and Political Capabilities in Cross-Border Investment Activity”

2019 international business education award presentation

CUIBE Award for Best Paper on International Business Education
Sponsored by the Consortium for Undergraduate International Business Education
Robert David Stephens, Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania
Ernesto Tavoletti, University of Macerata
Longzhu Dong, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

“Peer Evaluation and Team Performance in Global Virtual Teams: Not What You Would Expect”

2019 that's interesting award presentation

“That’s Interesting!” Award
Sponsored by Aalto University School of Business

Arindam Das, Krea University
Sourav Dey, Cognizant

“Manufacturing Value Networks of Multinationals: How Digital Technologies are Reshaping the Relationships Embedded in the OLI Paradigm”

waib woman of the year award presentation

WAIB Woman of the Year Award
Elizabeth Rose
University of Leeds and Aalto University

WAIB Emerging Scholar Award
Andri Georgiadou
Cyprus University of Technology

WAIB Best Paper for Gender Awareness in IB Research Award
Shibashish Mukherjee
University of Groningen

“Tribal World: Evidence from Global Corporate Board Gender Reforms”

WAIB Helping Hands Awards

The Women in the Academy of International Business awarded financial support by providing Helping Hands Awards to assist the following AIB members to attend AIB 2019.

Thi Thu Ha Nguyen, University of Vaasa
Jennet Achyldurdyyeva, National Sun Yat-sen University
Kechen Dong, University of Adelaide
Komal Kiran Kalra, University of Victoria
Quyen Dang, University of Technology Sydney
Yaxi Shen, Australian National University

Junior Faculty Consortium Stipends

Through the generous support of the Boeing Institute of International Business at Saint Louis University, the following junior faculty members were awarded a travel stipend specifically to participate in the Junior Faculty Consortium at the 2019 AIB annual meeting.

Gabriel Vouga Chueke, University of São Paulo
Emine Beyza Satoglu, Izmir Katip Celebi University
Joey Soehardjojo, Institute of Developing Economies (IDE-JETRO)

Doctoral Stipend Recipients

Travel support funding was provided to the following doctoral students who attended, and provided volunteer support by assisting at the registration desk and in the placement center along with being directional aides for the Copenhagen meeting.

Arzi Adbi, INSEAD
Kantatouj Amaranonta, National Institute of Development Administration
Daniel Andrews, Florida International University
Christine Ascencio, Saint Louis University
Saikat Banerjee, Indian Institute of Management Ahmedabad
Rachel Chang, Universidade de São Paulo
Ankita Chhabra, Indian Institute of Management Indore
Miguel Cordova, Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Peru
Uros Delevic, University of Reading
Zhonghui Ding, Ljubljana University
Kechen Dong, University of Adelaide
Mathew Egu, University of South Africa
Buddhika Gamage, University of Queensland
Alejandra García Cardona, Universidad de Medellín
Bushra Ghufran, RWTH Aachen University
Ana Gómez, CEIPA Business School
Osagie Igbinigie, University of Wolverhampton
Maria Ilieva, Osaka City University
Nicolas Jankuhn, Saint Louis University
Komal Kiran Kalra, University of Victoria
Edyta Korpas, KU Leuven
Sarah Ku, Georgia State University
Tingting Li, Renmin University of China
Zhixiang Liang, Concordia University
Abdullah Al Mamun, Charles Sturt University
Marine Mograbyan, Imperial College Business School
Karishma Nagre, University of Leeds
Ciara O’Higgins, University of Deusto
Atilla Onuklu, Temple University
Robert Pidduck, University of Oklahoma
Liana Rysakova, Saint Petersburg University
Louisa Selivanovskikh, Saint Petersburg University
Yaxi Shen, Australian National University
Mohan Song, Florida International University
Vijayalakchimi Subramaniam, Universiti Sains Malaysia
Mohammad Tipu Sultan, Shanghai Jiao Tong University
Emmanuel Junior Tenakwah, Western Sydney University
Emmanuel Senior Tenakwah, University of Newcastle, Australia
Shobha Tewari, Indian Institute of Management Bangalore
Jemaine Tsoi, University of Queensland
Juan Velez-Ocampo, Universidad EAFIT & Universidad de Antioquia
Davor Vuchkovski, University of Ljubljana
Yihan Wang, HEC Montréal
Liang Wen, University of Sydney
Xiaoshi Xu, Aalto University
Yalan Xu, Chinese University of Hong Kong
Jiaju Yan, University of Tennessee
Irem Yoruk, Wayne State University
Irene Zamora, Waseda University
Ziyan Zhu, Renmin University of China