At each of AIB’s Annual Meetings, the opening plenary session features a keynote address by an outstanding business leader who has helped their firm reach new heights in reputation and performance on an international stage. This speaker is, in turn, honoured with one of AIB’s most prestigious prizes: The International Executive of the Year Award.

On behalf of this year’s selection committee and all of our AIB Fellows, we are pleased to announce that PayCargo Chief Executive Officer Eduardo del Riego has been chosen to receive this award at AIB 2020 Miami.

As CEO of PayCargo, a logistics payment platform, Mr. del Riego has helped transform the company into a global Fintech powerhouse. Based in Miami, PayCargo has a network of payers and vendors featuring top companies in the industry, including Kuehne + Nagel, FedEx, and DHL. His team has also built partnerships with trade associations such as the International Air Transport Association (IATA) in order to create a more efficient payment settlement system.

Since starting his career in vessel operations at Crowley Maritime more than 35 years ago, Mr. del Riego has established himself as a serial entrepreneur in the logistics industry with a focus on digital technology development. He has used his expertise in enhancing logistics technology to establish three companies worth more than $100 million, including The DiGregorio Group and Active Freight & Logistics.

In addition to his professional accomplishments, Mr. del Riego is known throughout Miami’s business community for his dedication to public service. He currently serves as a board member for the Beauty of Sight Foundation, a local organization that helps to fund research into curing blindness and preventing vision loss. He is also an advisor to the board for Cinco Palabras, an NGO that provides funding for charities promoting literacy and women’s rights through music and arts projects.

AIB wishes to express special thanks to all of our 2020 Executive of the Year Award Selection Committee members: Chuck Kwok (Chair), José de la Torre, Maria Tereza Fleury, Marjorie Lyles, Shige Makino, and Peter Williamson.